From CHAKRAS course

Introducing Ayurvedic Dosha Types

Through the ancient science of Ayurveda, seven distinct types of humans: Kapha, Pitta and Vata and four types that are a combination of the primary three are defined based on the five elements. These types signify how a physical, emotional and mental system operates with metabolism and the actions and reactions of the individual.

In our physical body, vata is the subtle energy of movement, pitta the energy of digestion and metabolism, and kapha is the energy that forms the body’s structure.

You are what you eat, you are what you think and you are what you do; repetition and resonance create reality. Knowing what is good for one’s being and what is not enables one to make the correct choices, this is the goal of Ayurveda lifestyle science.

Scientific lifestyle methodologies of Ayurveda define the character and constitution of a person as a means to correct defects and bring  into balance. Through proper alignment, one ultimately improves health, strengthens the immune system and causes a state of calmness in the body and mind.

Diet as well as atmosphere impacts a human considerably. Therefore, one must strive to create a peaceful environment, gain adequate rest, eat the correct types of food for their metabolism and practice applying fragrance for creating the right kind of ambience, throughout the day.

Using this simple character assessment, one can easily determine dosha type for selecting the right things for maintaining equanimity and the proper tools for creating a soothing environment.

Checkmark what best applies to your character and tally results below. Many will find that they are a combination of types yet, one will dominate the constitution and remain as the over-riding influence of how one feels throughout the day.


More about Kapha

More about Pitta

More about Vata